My Old Friend The Sea

img_4024

Early morning breezes wash over me like a warm embrace.

My memory is quickly awakened to a distant longing, a familiar place.

The alluring scent of ocean air makes me ache.

I long for gentle sea breezes, soft caresses of wind over my being, and my soul.

I miss bicycle rides to nowhere, and the sound of the lifeguards whistle.

I yearn to feel the ocean water, and granular texture of the sand under my feet.

I wish to hear the mesmerizing sounds of the sea gulls calling his friends for a meal.

I miss the sound of ropes embracing flag poles on windy days.

I yearn for sun kissed skin, and blissful days of doing nothing.

I miss my old friend, the sea.

S Heckman

Leave a Reply

