The Wedding Dress

wedding-dressThere are these spaces in time, these tiny moments, where you are reminded of just how beautiful your life truly is. Tiny reflections of where you’ve come from, and where you are going.

And in the midst of it all, you become grateful for your God given life!

Our lives can be a twist of days and weeks melted into months and years, and then one day you stop, turn around and wonder “where did it all go?”

Twenty-five years ago when I was handed my baby girl, I wish someone had said “wait until the day you see her in a wedding dress”! Not that it would have mattered much, or slowed the process of her growing up, but raising Sadie has made my life richer, and something I have treasured every day.

Nothing can prepare you for the first time you see your daughter in a wedding dress. Nothing allows you to know whether you will get “giddy with laughter” and enjoy the moment, or get sucked back in time as you watch your child grow up before your eyes. As I sat there watching the dressing room, I couldn’t have possibly known what would happen next. It had been an ordinarily, ordinary week and I was excited to see this day come. I had not anticipated the emotional train that would roll into my life, in fact it took me totally by surprise. Although Sadie’s grown and moved out, our sons and daughters will always be our children.

Sadie danced majestically out of the dressing room and proceeded to twirl, and I magically was taken back to a time when she was two years old! She went from twenty-five to two in a matter of seconds! Every detail of this wedding dress was stunning, from the chiffon and lace to the glitzy glitter on the veil, and somehow it did not soften the blow of seeing my little girl grow up right before my eyes as I cried a river of emotion I didn’t even see coming. As she walked out in this beautiful wedding dress, she looked stunning, and my mind immediately took me back to Sadie at two years old, standing there in a tutu on her tippy toes in my kitchen! She looked so sweet, So beautiful, So angelic!

Some say I’m holding on, I say I’m holding her up! I’m lifting her life up to Jesus and asking Him to walk beside her, as she walks into her future life. How quickly life can pass us by, and if we don’t remain in the moment and enjoy every tiny detail, we’ll miss the most beautiful moments of all.

Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward (Deut. 28:4). As arrows are in the hand of the warrior, so are the children of one’s youth. Happy, blessed and fortunate is the man whose quiver is filled with them! They will not be put to shame when they speak with their adversaries (in gatherings) at the  (city’s) gate. Psalm 127:3-5AMP

I love this part of Sadie’s life, I love sharing her dream of wedding dresses and the perfect wedding to come! With much anticipation, I await the day with happiness and glee, as I watch her transform into the woman of her fiancé’s dreams.

Beautiful in every way was she, as she twirled in the wedding dress of her dreams, and if I had it my way, she would stay two as in my dreams, wearing a tutu, standing on tippy toe, forever and a day.

Beautiful memories flood the gates of my mind, and I am in for the ride of my life, as I watch and dream with my daughter, and plan this magnificent wedding. Loveliest of times as we taste some of the most exquisite cakes, try different cocktails and begin to slowly walk the path toward her journey of wedded bliss. This kid, this little, this daughter of mine has become my legacy left behind. I adore her, and I am so grateful to God that I am her mother.

The weeks and months to come, will be filled with planning and preparing for her big day! I can’t wait to savor each and every moment in hopeful anticipation of Sadie’s day, her Wedding Day! Today, we go to look at more dresses, and I am hopeful that today I won’t cry a river, nor see her as two, I hope that today I see her as this beautiful woman that she has become. I am so proud of her.

You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and mind and with all your soul and with all your strength (your entire being). These words, which I am commanding you today, shall be (written) on your heart and mind. You shall teach them diligently to your children (impressing God’s precepts on their minds and penetrating their hearts with His truths) and shall speak of them when you sit in your house and when you walk on the road and when you lie down and when you get up And you shall bind them as a sign on your hand (forearm), and they shall be used as bands (frontals, frontlets) on your forehead. You shall write them on the doorsteps of your house and gates. Deuteronomy 6:5-9AMP

Sandie Heckman

One thought on “The Wedding Dress

Leave a Reply

