Slow Down Christmas!

3. Advent

I want to slow down Christmas. I want to slow the magic, slow the hustle, and slow the timing until the day of Christmas arrives.

Today is the first day of Advent. I’ve always had the Advent calendar as a child. You know the one where you pop out a chocolate each day, and can’t wait till you get to the 25th day, because it’s the biggest chocolate of all? I wasn’t read to nor was I taught about the days leading up to Christmas in Sunday school, I was taught about presents and the presence of Jesus, but not in a way I want to learn now. I remember going to church and each week one more candle would be lit in the Advent ring of candles, sitting on a table at the front of the church. Each week one more candle would be lit, until the final day, Christmas day, where all the candles would be lit, and you knew today was Christmas! As a child, Advent to me was a countdown, a countdown to Christmas. I want to countdown to Christmas, but not to anticipate presents, I want to anticipate the presence of Jesus in my life daily, every day and especially on Christmas day.

Why is it as we age, we seek a slowness, a softer approach to allowing Jesus to resonate in our souls? As we go year after year watching Christmas hasten in getting here, and the stores cram more and more Christmas spirit down our throats, Christmas loses its wonder, and I want my wonder back. I want to resonate daily on how Mary and Joseph were so in tune to God, and how Mary trusted and had such great faith in our Heavenly Father that she carried the Son of God, the Son of all of mankind. I want to feel the emotion, the heartfelt love of this season slowly. I want to feel God. I want to slow down Christmas and enjoy and feel the bliss in knowing, this Son, this baby Jesus was sent for me, for you, for all of mankind.

The word Advent means arrival or appearance. I want to prepare for the arrival of our beloved Jesus in such a way, that this season means love, grace and a beauty like I’ve never felt before. I want to slow down Christmas and savor every moment of our Christ child.

Advent Day #1

O Sing to the Lord a new song for He has done marvelous things; His right hand and His holy arm have wrought salvation for Him. The Lord has made known His salvation; His righteousness has He openly shown in the sign of the nations. He has earnestly remembered His mercy and loving kindness. His truth and His faithfulness toward the house of Israel; all the ends of the earth have witnessed the salvation of our God. Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth; break forth and sing for joy, yes, sing praises. Psalm 98:1-4 AM

Therefore on this day, I shall sing praises to the Lord. For He is good. He is kind, and because of Him I live! Today I shall rejoice in my Lord and Savior. Today I shall walk with Him and talk with Him, and resonate on His love all day long.

Today is the first day of Advent. Today I will slow down Christmas and sing praises to my Lord!

 Sandie Heckman

Leave a Reply

