Twinlike for Jesus

twins

As I was stopped at a traffic light, I spied the most beautiful sight as a mother and her twin boys crossed in front of my car. Twins, not older than two! I couldn’t help but stare at this beautiful family as this inspiring mother guided her children across the street, while all three held hands in unison. The mother and toddlers held hands in a single line, and I noticed the one twin looking back watching his twin brother as they were walking. This little boy never took his eyes off of his brother, nor did they ever stop holding hands. As they walked across the street, it was like a symphony playing in time to the rhythm of their movement, it was just breathtaking! These twin boys knew each other’s movements so accurately, they looked as if they moved as one in motion. These boys were so identical in nature, I’m not even sure if their mother can tell them apart! I’m sure she can, but to me, they were truly beautiful boys! Magical was the motion as they moved, and I had to wonder if they saw themselves in each other when they looked into each other’s eyes. How soon do identical twins separate their identities, and how long after they are born do they realize that they are not one in the same if they look identical from birth?

Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children. And walk in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God Ephesians 5:1-2

I couldn’t get this beautiful image of this family out of my mind, and I started to question what it would be like if we were so in tune to Christ, so “twin like” that we moved with a magical rhythm to Jesus daily? Is it possible to walk in Jesus footsteps so closely, that we can indeed become “twin like” or identical in his image? How often do you hold hands with Jesus and walk in unison every minute of your day? How often do you turn around and know He is right there beside you?

Whoever says he abides in him ought to walk in the same way in which he walked 2 John 2:6

The more we move to the rhythm of our life becoming Christ like, the more we will be in tune to our Christ like image. Consider for a moment, that each and every day when you look in the mirror who do your see? Do you see yourself, or do you see Christ’s likeness? Every time we walk to the rhythm of God’s calling, we represent Him and His essence to those around us who are watching. Quite possibly, we could be the only link for someone who has never heard of Jesus. It is vital that we continue to strive to be as “Twin like” to Jesus as possible.

You therefore must be perfect, as your heavenly Father is perfect. Matthew 5:48

My hope is that when I walk down the street, people see Jesus in me. My hope is that my light shines so bright and my image is so “twin like” to Jesus, that I mirror His image in everything I do. Of course we cannot be a carbon copy of Jesus for we are sinners and He was not, but I hope that someday I will express a “twin likeness” to Jesus becoming a better witness for Him.
Never stop trying to be a better Christian! Never stop leading others to Christ! Never stop believing.

SANDIE HECKMAN

Leave a Reply

