Why Blog?

light

I’m sitting at Starbucks drinking my Grande Drip Double Shot Espresso, and I’m pondering the questions do I enjoy blogging? Do I enjoy writing faith based stories? I look to my left, I look to my right. Everyone in this coffee shop is frantically typing on some sort of electronic device, nose buried into the screen. I wonder, how do I reach the masses? What will I say? How will I ever use a blog to help people find Christ? And then it hits me, right smack in the middle of the perfect sip of Sumatra. I shout out loud, “I keep writing”! Well, it wasn’t an earth shattering statement, because no one, and I mean no one ever looked up from their laptops or phones!

I started blogging over a year ago, and I’ve learned so much it is hard to put it into words. Well, wait a minute, that can’t be right! If I can’t put it into words than I’m not a writer and I am not a blogger at all. Actually, I am so fired up for Christ, I can’t stop writing, and in a sense it is because of blogging! I enjoy blogging simply because I enjoy writing about my experiences as a Christian. I enjoy writing about my faith.

I challenged myself to post daily if possible. This was a real task at first. I went to my blog wrote a few stories, hit the post button, and scheduled some more posts into the future. It was mind boggling to say the least. I actually did it, and enjoyed it! I waited, I shared on Facebook and the funny thing is, I started to hear feedback. My friends were enjoying my writing. I had people sending me emails that I didn’t even know, some from as far away as China and India. Then, by far the most miraculous thing happened, my friend called to tell me she was taking her two daughters to church. Wow! I inspired the desire in people to go to church simply by writing a few words on a blog. It was working! I followed God’s lead, and I was helping lead people to Christ! Yes! I now love blogging.

So, as I sit here writing these paragraphs in answer to the question, do I enjoy blogging? I’d have to answer yes! Blogging is a wonderful way to reach people who all share the same passion, the passion of life, writing and reading. I have a passion! I have a desire to inspire people to find their faith, to find Christ and to live their life forward with a God inspired life. I have to keep writing, because in my tiny corner of the world I am helping to change lives along the way.

Blogging is an awesome way to instill passion in others, and a wonderful way to connect with other writers and learn from them as well. Blogging has instilled a passion in me to share life changing events that maybe, just maybe will inspire others to love God the way He first loved us.

IN THE beginning [before all time] was the Word (Christ), and the Word was with God, and the Word was God Himself. [Isa. 9:6.] 2 He was present originally with God.3 All things were made and came into existence through Him; and without Him was not even one thing made that has come into being. 4 In Him was Life, and the Life was the Light of men. 5 And the Light shines on in the darkness, for the darkness has never overpowered it [put it out or absorbed it or appropriated it, and is unreceptive to it]. 6 There came a man sent from God, whose name was John. [Mal. 3:1.]

7 This man came to witness, that he might testify of the Light, that all men might believe in it [adhere to it, trust it, and rely upon it] through him.8 He was not the Light himself, but came that he might bear witness regarding the Light. 9 There it was–the true Light [was then] coming into the world [the genuine, perfect, steadfast Light] that illumines every person. [Isa. 49:6.] John 1:1-9AMP

If I reach just one reader who is touched by my writing and led to Christ, then I have done justice to my God and the blogging world!

Sandie Heckman

Leave a Reply

