The Brown Furry Ball

got-joy

Now bear with me,

I want to tell you something about happiness.

It’s hard to get at but the thing is,

I wasn’t looking, I was looking somewhere else

when my daughter found it in

the produce section, and came running

holding it out in her small hands

asking what it could be, and could we keep it,

it only cost 99 cents?

There it was all hairy and brown,

hard as a rock,

and something swishing around inside.

And what on earth, and where on earth

and this was happiness,

this brown ball of interest,

and this little beating in her chest

this interestedness beaming out from her face

pleading happiness.

And because I wasn’t happy,

I said to put it back

because I didn’t want it,

I didn’t need it,

and because she was happy

she started to cry

right in the middle of aisle five

in the produce section of our

neighborhood grocery store.

So when we got home

we put it in the middle of the table

and sat on either side of it

and began to consider

how to get inside of it

and happiness leached out

of her and went into me, and

for the first time in a long time

I found happiness too,

In my beautiful daughter.

Sandie Heckman 

Leave a Reply

