On This Particular Day

mom washing
It happened one day, on a gray and dreary afternoon it happened. There I was sitting all alone, the usual going on in my head, and then right smack in the middle of the day it was there. The ideas, the thoughts, the usual maddening stuff that Satan tried desperately to put in my head, and I shouted out loud, “LORD I NEED YOU”, “Lord take these burdens I need you”!

And on this particular day, in the middle of this particular afternoon, it happened. Jesus, our beautiful Jesus came walking into my life and he lifted up all the items I was asking to be free of. He walked into my life all beaming with brightness, whiteness like a beautiful set of sheets blowing in the wind, blowing around in my mind from years gone by, when my mom would do the laundry and I would run back and forth between these wispy pieces of white cotton hanging on the line.

Right here and now, I pleaded and my beautiful Jesus came on into my life and he picked me up and carried me outside, and I knew as I looked to the sky and saw the bluest, the most tranquil sky of my mind, that I was home. I had been rescued from all the madness in my life. The screaming child, the distorted vision that everyone had of my life, that my life was out of control which to this day I know, I know without a doubt it was. But, on this particular day, on this particular part of my day of my life, Jesus stepped in and erased everything about me that was hurting. Jesus placed a notecard on my kitchen table with love and devotion, a calling card so to speak, of how He was the one that so desperately had longed for me to call Him. To call Him my Jesus.

So I am home, free now, with my child running around outside playing in the sun, and as I watch my life whisk on by, as the clouds formulate and freely blow on by, my life, this life of mine, my Jesus life so freely given to me, is where I love to be. This life, of beautiful days, laughter, smiles and cheers is my day to open up the door and to know that on this particular day in time, on this particular day when Jesus walked into my life, I became His daughter, His love. My Savior walked into my life and saved me. My Jesus!

And therefore the Lord [earnestly] waits [expecting, looking, and longing] to be gracious to you; and therefore He lifts Himself up, that He may have mercy on you and show loving-kindness to you. For the Lord is a God of justice. Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) are all those who [earnestly] wait for Him, who expect and look and long for Him [for His victory, His favor, His love, His peace, His joy, and His matchless, unbroken companionship]! Isaiah 30:18 AMP

Sandie Heckman

Leave a Reply

