Legacy of Love

legacy of love
Yesterday I celebrated Mother’s Day! The day we are recognized as being the 24/7 keepers of the memories and celebrations of our children! As I reflect on the day, I’ve come to realize that blessings no matter how big or small happen every day, and Mother’s Day is 365 days a year!
I had a wonderful day with my daughter having lunch, and planting flowers in flower pots that we purchased on this day. Just spending the day with her made my heart sing! Leaving a Legacy of Love for our Children is what our Mission as Moms is all about.
work for food
Yesterday, I adopted a homeless young man who was holding up a sign on a busy street by the mall. I can’t get this young man out of my mind. There he was holding a sign for food and work, and I had to wonder where his Mom was? It became heavy on my heart and I found myself turning into McDonald’s, with my daughter in the car. Showing by example is how I want to live my life, and I found myself buying a McDonald’s meal for this young man. As I pulled up to the median strip at the traffic light, the light turned red! I was able to tell this young man that it’s Mother’s Day and I have officially adopted him as my son for the day. I handed him the meal which I know he appreciated, because he instantaneously blessed me and then sat in the medium and started eating. It’s not about the materialistic gifts on Mother’s Day, it’s about the fact that we are so blessed, and every human being on this planet is a child of God. I hope for one minute I blessed this young man enough, that he will remember to someday pay it forward. I have faith that his life will turn around and he will be able to make a difference in someone else’s life as he grows older!
It’s not our place to judge, to question why some people live the life they choose or are dealt. It is our place however to make their lives a little better, to help them feel a little more loved because we are leaving our Legacy of Love behind.
Sandie Heckman

Leave a Reply

