7 WORDS SPOKEN IN THE END

ImageWe rise and fall in our spiritual journeys, each embarking on our own individually driven trials and battles that we all seek to win, in our spiritual growth. Our stream of faith, our stream of doubt comes and goes like the Spring rains that have drenched the area where I live. Our Lord has come and gone, yet we wait patiently for his return, until we too shall pass and meet again.

In our daily struggles we hunger for his closeness and his attention to every detail, every fiber of our daily lives. And so, we battle on. We read, pray and associate every intricate detail of our lives with the One, the higher authority, our true Lover of our Lives. Jesus Christ is our one and only during our ups and downs. He is the one who clings to us even through eternity. He is the salvation to our claims of being taunted by every day hardships, every day meaningful glances into our family and friends. He is the One who is there holding us up, cheering us on, He Loves Us.

This longing for the loving of Jesus Christ comes tenfold with the dawning of Holy Week. As the minutes turn into days, and I draw closer to the final hours before Easter, my utter devotion grows stronger. I am at the ultimate point of falling, falling more deeply and spiritually in love with my Savior. I read and research His final days trying to figure out why, why me? Why did he die for me? I am so humbled that I can’t even describe at some points of how his ultimate sacrifice changed my life. There are no words to describe the haunting pull at my heart strings. I continue on in the week, Monday becomes Tuesday and as my week plays out I can’t help but wonder what Jesus was doing on each particular day, at each precise minute that I look at the clock. The hour is approaching, the ending hour of our Saviors Life, 3 p.m. on Friday afternoon. I need to remember and to fulfill my ultimate vision quest of knowing, “why, why me”? Why did he suffer for us all, die and rise up to wait for us in Heaven? Why did he have to go through the horrific death? Why did he have to suffer at all? And I battle on with the questions, and my heart becomes fuller with each passing moment. I find the words sometimes more difficult to express, so I keep going, and then I become bolder than ever in my faith. I profess my love for Him. I speak of His journey, and with every intricate detail I try to explain; and my whole body becomes engulfed with emotions and tears. I become a roller coaster of thoughts and emotions in describing His love for us to my daughter. And suddenly, I hear myself speaking and I am awe struck by my spiritual growth in the past year. My life has become fuller, has so much more meaning now, and I describe this relationship of following Christ to my daughter and my heart grows even fuller.

Monday becomes Tuesday, and Tuesday falls into Wednesday and with each passing day of Holy Week I grow deeper in my faith and I dig deeper into Jesus’s journey to his final hour. I study the last 7 words spoken by Jesus and I become more and more entwined in my faith.

Last 7 words spoken by Jesus

  1. Luke 23:34 (Jesus Speaks to the Father) Jesus said, Father, forgive them for they know what they are doing. NIV
  2. Luke 23:43 (Jesus speaks to criminal on Cross) “I tell you the truth, today you will be with me in paradise.” NIV
  3. John 19:26-27 (When Jesus saw his mother Mary there, and the disciple whom he loved standing by, he said to his mother, “Dear woman, here is your son,” and to the disciple, “Here is your mother”. NIV
  4. Matthew 27:46 About the ninth hour of his suffering, Jesus cried out with a loud voice, saying“Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani?” that is, “My God, My God, why have You forsaken me? NIV
  5. John 19:28 Jesus knew that everything was finished now, and to fulfill the scriptures he said,               “I am Thirsty”. NLT       
  6. John 19:30 he said…”It is finished” NLT
  7. Luke 23:46 Jesus Called out with a loud voice, “Father, into your hands I command my spirit”. With this he breathed his last breath. NIV

After reading these 7 words describing Jesus’s last testimony of his faithfulness and love for us, it is clear that we may ultimately never be able to describe a love like this! This love is beyond description in our terms and time. To feel, to taste, to touch the essence of Christ’s love, is of great and broadly inclusive significance. It’s ultimately the divine at its finest. A spiritual awakening that is unique to each individual.

Sandie Heckman

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

