THE BAPTISM

BAPTISM

My Lord, My Lord and Savior
How I love thee, more with each passing day.
I love you more today, and shall love you even more tomorrow.
You have saved me from my depths of despair.

It’s been a year since my baptism.
For some, they said it was not an honorable thing for me to do.
They said, I should leave this religion, this Christianity.
They asked, why repeat a baptism
that was done so long ago, when I was a child?

I needed to honor you, to show you that I long for your magnificent
beauty, your loving kindness and forgiveness.
For this and for you, I sank into the crystal clear waters,
and allowed myself to be washed clean,
because I believe in your everlasting love and faithfulness.
I pronounced that You Are My Lord And Savior!

You never left my side, even in my times of darkness, when I spit out
your name and said that it was not necessary to believe.
Yet you haunted my soul, you cried out to me
and suddenly on that one distant night, I heard you.
I asked for forgiveness of my sins, and you granted my prayers.
You heard my cries for forgiveness.
You told me I was worthy to be called your everlasting child.
For you Lord I was baptized, You are My Lord and Savior!

And Peter answered them, Repent (change your views and purpose to accept the will of God in your inner selves instead of rejecting it) and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of and release from your sins; and you shall receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. Acts 2:38 AMP
SANDIE HECKMAN

Leave a Reply

