LAYERS OF GOD’S LOVE

I awoke thiswhite as snow morning to no heat in my house, yet I am as warm as can be. Well, I am slightly chilly, yet I am not allowing myself to become distraught over the fact that the furnace is not working. I called my landlord and was blessed to have 2 space heaters in my home within ten minutes. I consider this to be the first blessing of my day!

The snow that had been predicted the previous morning came on schedule, just as planned. As the snow fell in the early morning hours, the whiteness of the snow reminded me that God does indeed wash our sins away and makes us pure as snow. How lucky am I to have a God so faithful that even when my heater breaks down, I am still reminded of his undying love for me and that he never leaves my side. I am warm inside, my heart is full of love and from the inside out I am on fire for Him.

16 Wash yourselves, make yourselves clean; put away the evil of your doings from before My eyes! Cease to do evil, 17 Learn to do right! Seek justice, relieve the oppressed, and correct the oppressor. Defend the fatherless, plead for the widow. 18 Come now, and let us reason together, says the Lord. Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they shall be like wool. Isaiah 16-18 Amplified

Blessings of the day can come in even the smallest of events, and if we are not watching, we can miss the learning opportunity. Today I feel more blessed than I’ve ever been before in my life. I’ve been to the bottom of the well, where the water is cold, and the ultimate idea of breaking free seems unthinkable. Yet on this particular morning, I look upon my life, and the absence of heat in my home as a blessing! I am free from turmoil. I am allowing God to engage in my life and recreate me into a faith driven person who finds the good in all situations.

I sit and wait for the HVAC repairman to show up, and I am reminded that I could be a person who is homeless in a shelter. I could be a homeless person under a bridge with nowhere to go to find the warmth that I need to stay alive. I am blessed and thankful to have God’s favor in my life. I have a roof over my head, a home that is semi warm right now, and the love of friends and family that goes beyond my comprehension as to how I became so blessed in life.

I sit with the Layers of God’s love around me and I can honestly say that this life is good. I have the layers of God to remind me that even though we can reach our darkest hour in life, if we find the goodness from God in even the smallest of blessings, we can simply be a better blessing to everyone around us.

I put on my Layers of God this morning in a fashion that is very dear to me from this day forward. I started my Layers of God with His Love closest to my heart. I than placed a layer of Grace, Gratitude and Joy overtop so that the world could see that with God’s love you truly do have Joy in your life. As I await the repairman that will soon bring warmth to my home, I am drinking in God’s faithfulness and love and I am ready to move on to the next phase in my life.

I have been volunteering with a local outreach organization in my community, helping homeless and displaced people to find the items they need to survive everyday life. I am finding the opportunity to help these displaced people has opened my heart which now is overflowing with God’s blessings and love. We are all God’s children, and we must shed his light on everyone in need. I am so blessed to have the ability to live life with all the blessing around me, and I want to share God’s love with those around me who may never have heard of Jesus Christ our Lord. They may not know that they too can have their sins washed away, white as snow if they accept him into their lives. I can be the lifeline that will help them look for small blessings in their everyday life.

Maybe waking up this morning with a colder than normal home, has allowed my eyes to be opened even more to the fact that everyone has those tiny moments in life where the Layers of God may feel as if they’ve stopped wrapping us in a warm embrace. Maybe by sharing his love and kindness to those that are less fortunate than me, will allow them to see that God can be a blessing to them and they too can be as white as the fallen snow and wear God’s Layers to help keep their hearts warm.

SANDIE HECKMAN

Leave a Reply

